Discover: Sonya Lifschitz

Discover: Sonya Lifschitz

If you're a ticket holder to the Sydney Morning Masters concert for Sonya Lifschitz on 27 October, you will have received an email about this change. Please check your inbox for more details. 

For further questions, you can contact our Box Office team at or on 1800 688 482.

Known for her work as an installation and conceptual artist, this next instalment in Musica Viva Australia’s Discover series is a special opportunity to witness Sonya Lifschitz in a stripped-back piano recital format. With tickets starting from just $5, this digital concert on 18 November guarantees viewers the best seats in the house to what will be an intimate presentation of great works.

Setting the mood will be selections from Brahms’ Six Pieces for Piano, cherished works that range from the pensive to restless. An ideal showcase for Lifschitz’ sensitive pianism, they’re followed by the Chaconne from Bach’s Partita No 2, performed here in its left-hand arrangement by Brahms. A masterpiece of the violin repertoire in its original rendering, in Brahms’ transcription the extremes of emotion are expressed in the subtler shades available to the piano.  

George Crumb’s A Little Suite for Christmas, A.D. 1979 will meanwhile be a great discovery for many audiences. Taking as its inspiration the famed Scrovegni Chapel frescoes in Padua, specifically their “childlike, nearly innocent style”, Crumb’s “aural tableau” tells the Nativity story in an appropriately painterly style.  

Closing out the digital concert is Janáček’s Piano Sonata 1. X. 1905, a powerful two-movement work awash in melancholy. 

Discover Musica Viva

This concert is part of our Discover Musica Viva series – a collection of concerts, webinars, podcast episodes and more.

We want our Discover collection to be inclusive and accessible for all, we understand that not everyone can afford the full cost of a ticket right now. Artists appearing in the series are supported by donations from our Artists’ Fund which allows us to offer flexible pricing from $5 to $25.

BRAHMS Selections from Six Pieces for Piano, Op. 118
BACH Chaconne from Partita No. 2 for solo violin in D minor, BWV 1004 (arr. Brahms for piano left hand)
CRUMB Selections from A Little Suite for Christmas, A.D. 1979
JANÁČEK Piano Sonata 1.X.1905

Read the concert program below or download it here.

Event and Ticketing Details

Dates & Times

Online Concert   Thursday 18 November 2021 7PM AEDT


$5 - $25 Online Tickets


Online Concert

Watch online from the comfort of your home.

Event notes

Livestream ticket sales close 30 minutes prior to the start of the concert.

Livestream ticket holders will receive a link to watch the performance prior to the concert. Please check your junk folder if you have not received it.

Please contact our Box Office team at or on 1800 688 482 if you require assistance.