Strike A Chord Grand Final 2021

Strike A Chord 2021 Finals

The national livestream starts at 1PM AEST

Register now for the FREE livestream and cheer on your state finalists from the comfort of your home!

The Musica Viva and Strike A Chord teams have changed and adapted the format of this year's Strike A Chord Grand Final to ensure that our 12 finalists have the opportunity to perform via livestream in their home states.

We are delighted to announce the Finalists of Strike A Chord 2021, the second iteration of Musica Viva's National Chamber Music Championship for secondary school ensembles.

After two weeks of deliberation, the jury has come to a decision on the twelve groups from across Australia that will be taking part in the Grand Final livestream.

2021 Finalists

The Canberra Reds - ACT
Jayden Lohe, flute
Carl Vitolovich, flute
Lucy Gao, piano

Bartholdy Trio - NSW
Justine Zhang, violin
Vincent Zhu, cello
Fiona Feng, piano

False Relations - NSW
Gabriel Dillon, voice
Archie Tulk, voice
Austin O’Toole, voice
Liam Green, voice

Piccolo String Quartet - NSW
Isabella Sun, violin
Jonah Shi, violin
Hayley Lau, viola
Jack Theakston, cello

Amogus Trio - QLD
Anna Suzuki, violin
Jeremy Sun, piano
Joshua Jones, cello

JPMS Ensemble Spirito - QLD
Yuliana Chen, percussion
Chloe Christofan, percussion
Lachlan Tu, percussion
Abigail Ling, percussion
Theo Hidajat, percussion

"Shell Shocked" Chamber Percussion Ensemble, Sheldon College - QLD
Nicholas Robinson, vibraphone
Hayden Rayner, percussion
Nicholas Yang, marimba 1
David Chiu, marimba 2

Pirulí String Quartet - SA
Jasmine Milton, violin
Haneulle Lovell, violin
Sterling Rieck, viola
Caleb Christian, cello

Scotch College String Quartet - VIC
Leon Fei, violin
Lachlan Chen, violin
Neil Wang, viola
Justin Sheng, cello

Trio Finifugal - VIC
Mia-Chenea Robinson, voice
Sebastian Coyne, piano
Noah Lawrence, cello

Vdub - VIC
Olivia Spyrou, violin
Ian Chiao, violin
Jamie Miles, viola
Sebastian Coyne, viola
Noah Lawrence, cello

Four Strings - WA
Aaron Ooi, violin
Alicia Sun, violin
Mia Hasler, violin
Paula Krause, violin

The Peter Druce Audience Prize

The Peter Druce Audience Prize of $2,000 will be awarded live to the ensemble who receives the most audience votes during the Strike A Chord Grand Final on Sunday 15 August.

Details on how to vote will be announced during the livestreamed event. Voting will take place between 1pm and 4pm AEST. Viewers at home can vote for one ensemble each using their own device, viewers cannot vote more than once on the same device.

First Round Prize Winners

Apart from the finalists above, we are pleased to announce that many ensembles also won other prizes. Find out more about our Yamaha Novice Section winners and our First Round prize winners here.

JPMS Ensemble Spirito – QLD
John PSATHAS - Kyoto

Scotch College String Quartet – VIC
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN - String Quartet No. 11 In F minor Op 95, I. Allegro con brio

Bartholdy Trio - NSW
Felix MENDELSSOHN - Piano Trio No.1 in D minor Op. 49, I. Molto Allegro Agitato

Four Strings – WA
Ignaz LACHNER - Quartet in G for 4 violins Op. 107, III. Allegro giocoso and IV. Finale

Trio Finifugal – VIC
Johannes BRAHMS - Zwei Gesänge Op. 91, II. Geistliches Wiegenlied

Piccolo String Quartet – NSW
Felix MENDELSSOHN - String Quartet No. 2 in A minor Op. 13, I. Adagio - Allegro Vivace


Interval - 20 minutes


Shell Shocked – QLD
Dave HALL - Escape Velocity

Piruli String Quartet – SA
Felix MENDELSSOHN - String Quartet No. 2 in A minor Op. 13, I. Adagio - Allegro vivace

False Relations – NSW
Paul STANHOPE - I have not your dreaming

Amogus Trio – QLD
Arno BABADJANIAN - Piano Trio in F-sharp minor, II. Andante and III. Allegro Vivace

Canberra Reds – ACT
Francois DOPPLER - Andante et Rondo Op. 25 for Two Flutes and Piano

Vdub – VIC
R. Vaughan WILLIAMS - Phantasy Quintet, I. Prelude and II. Scherzo


Jury deliberation - 30 minutes

Winners announced live

Event and Ticketing Details

Dates & Times

Livestream   15 Aug 1PM




Online Concert

Watch online from the comfort of your home.

Event notes

Ticket Information

Ticket registrations are now closed.

Ticket holders will receive a link to watch the performance prior to the concert. Please check your junk folder if you have not received it.

Please contact our Box Office team at or on 1800 688 482 if you require assistance.