Silk, Metal, Wood

Book online and join us for the Season

Silk, Metal, Wood

What happens when silk meets metal meets wood?

Introducing French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras and Japanese-Australian koto master Satsuki Odamura, appearing with 'Australia's most exciting young cellist’ (Limelight) James Morley in Silk, Metal, Wood.

From Bach's solo cello suites to melodies of ancient Japan and the brave tang of new work, Musica Viva Australia’s Silk, Metal, Wood explores a world of possibilities. There's the cello, voted Australia's favourite instrument in the 2023 ABC Classic FM top 100. Then there's the koto, the ancient 13-stringed zither which is Japan's national instrument.

What happens when a koto and cello play alone? Or together? When a Scottish harpist writes for Japanese koto or a French songwriter makes cellos dance? Or when Australian composer Jakub Jankowski writes a new work for a trio of string sonorities?

What happens when silk meets metal meets wood?

Join us in person in Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide and Newcastle or enjoy the Livestreamed Concert on August 26 via Australian Digital Concert Hall

"Queyras’ absorbing presentation of Britten’s Cello Suite No. 1 alone was worth the price of admission."
— The Age
"An enjoyable, eclectic evening of awe-inspiring musicianship with an unlikely instrumental trio."
— Limelight

SATSUKI ODAMURA Koto and Bass Koto

JS BACH Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007
Jakub JANKOWSKI New Work*
Robin WILLIAMSON Letter from a Stranger’s Childhood
BRITTEN Cello Suite No. 1, Op. 72
OFFENBACH Duo for Two Cellos in B-Flat Major, Op. 53, No. 1

*World premiere performances. Commissioned for Musica Viva Australia by the Adelaide Commissioning Circle.

Jakub Jankowski

Jakub Jankowski is an Adelaide-based composer. Chamber music has been the focus of his recent works – many of which have been championed by musicians from Australia and abroad.

Jakub was a composer in residence at the 2019 Tongyeong International Music Festival in South Korea. His time there included the world premiere of a work written for the Arditti String Quartet, The Dove Descending.

Jakub’s music has been featured at several festivals, including the Coriole Music Festival (2019), the Huntington Estate Music Festival (2019), the Lockenhaus Chamber Music Festival (2018), and the Musica Viva Festival (2017).

Commissioned for Musica Viva Australia by the Adelaide Commissioning Circle, Jakub’s new work will be premiered by Jean- Guihen Queyras, Satsuki Odamura, and James Morley on their national tour.

View or download the program guide by pressing this button below . Zoom or view in a full screen using these buttons below .


Event and Ticketing Details

Dates & Times

Sydney   14 August 7pm
Melbourne   15 August 7pm
Newcastle   17 August 7:30pm
Sydney   19 August 2pm
Perth   21 August 7:30pm
Adelaide   23 August 7:30pm
Melbourne   26 August 7pm
Livestreamed Concert   26 August 7pm AEST


Multiple Venues

Please check the venue in your city when booking tickets.

Event notes

Concert Duration

This concert will run for approximately 120 mins including an interval. 

Venue Information

Read more about the venues here.

You might also be interested in...

View All

Introducing Noa Wildschut and Elisabeth Brauss, a duo that is lighting up the stages of Europe with elegant and engaging music-making.

More info