The following prizes shall be awarded. All prizes are in Australian dollars, and are subject to relevant Australian government withholding taxes. 


(Supported by Monash University)

The Grand Prize is awarded to either the winning ensemble from the String Quartet division or the winning ensemble from the Piano Trio division and includes a $30,000 cash prize, and career-enhancing professional development support. In awarding this prize, Musica Viva Australia and Monash University recognise the important role that the Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition plays in artist development.


1st Prize – The Robert Salzer Foundation Prize - $30,000

Robert Salzer was born in Vienna and was a lover of the arts and opera. Robert lived in the UK and Kenya before settling in 1961 in Melbourne, where he was responsible for the construction of many substantial buildings. His Foundation is a trust for the support of the arts, notably the performing arts.

2nd Prize - Patricia H. Reid Endowment Fund – $20,000

Patricia Reid had a particular admiration and affection for those performers who not only strive for perfection in their own performances but also take the trouble to mentor and foster young people who wish to go further with their own musical careers. She would have been very pleased and proud that she was able to support and foster young musicians.

3rd Prize – In Memory of Tom Bruce - $10,000

This Prize is supported by Beth Brown in memory of Beth's late husband Tom Bruce, a long-term and devoted supporter of the Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition and many other Melbourne music organisations.

Audience Prize for String Quartet - $8,000

The Audience Prize is supported by June Marks in memory of Dr. Ian Marks.

Quartet Commission Prize - Rowland-Jones and Immelman Commission Performance Prize Prize - $4,000

The Simon Rowland-Jones and Niel Immelman Prize is given to the best performance of Lee Bradshaw’s new work, Resolve for string quartet. Named for two inspirational performers of chamber music, it is dedicated to the next generation of artists.


1st Prize – The Tony Berg Prize - $22,500

With thanks to the Australian Music Foundation for their extraordinary and ongoing vision in support of the initiatives of Musica Viva Australia. Tony Berg is Patron of Musica Viva Australia, and served on its Board of Directors from 1983 to 2000 including as Chairperson for 12 years. Tony is an Executive Director of Gresham Partners Limited and chairs the Investment Committee of Gresham Property Funds Management. He served as a Council member of the National Gallery of Australia from 1997-2003, is a Director of the National Gallery of Australia Foundation Board (where he was Chairman for 7 years) and was a member of the Australia Council from 1978-1982. Tony Berg was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 1992, was Banker of the Year in 1993 and was awarded the Richard Pratt Business Leadership Award by the Australia Business Arts Foundation in 2002. This award is named in honour of Tony’s invaluable support for the arts in Australia.

2nd Prize – In Memory of Paul Morawetz - $15,000

Paul Morawetz was born in Austria in 1914 and died in Melbourne in April 2001. His love of music, and chamber music in particular, led him to become involved with Musica Viva Australia at the time of its founding in 1945. Paul took great pleasure in supporting young musicians, often helping them to gain public recognition and furthering their talents. This prize is supported by the Morawetz Family in memory of Paul and his interest in nurturing young talent and a generation of concert artists.

3rd Prize – Musica Viva Australia Victorian Committee Prize - $7,500

Members of the Musica Viva Australia Victorian Committee act as ambassadors for the organisation’s music education, artist development and concerts programs in the State. This prize is proudly supported by the current members of the Victorian Committee.

Audience Prize for Piano Trio - $6,000

The Audience Prize is supported by Mick and Margaret Toller, whose passion for developing the chamber musicians of the future – in particular in the ACT – has led to their generous support of this prize.

Trio Commission Prize - Barry Jones Commission Performance Prize - $3,000

The Barry Jones Commission Performance Prize is given to the best performance of the Maria Grenfell commission. This prize has been made possible thanks to the generous support of a group of donors in celebration of Barry Jones AC’s 90th Birthday. Barry Jones is a former Federal Minister, lawyer and writer, one of Australia's most prominent public intellectuals, and has been nominated as one of Australia's National Living Treasures. He is a passionate and discerning concertgoer and advocate for the arts.


Contact Information 

Please contact Elizabeth Dedman, Emerging Artists Coordinator, Musica Viva with any questions or concerns: 

t: +61 3 8580 1967 


Musica Viva 
77 Southbank Bvd