Lachlan Skipworth

Hailed by Limelight as expressing ‘both exquisite delicacy and tremendous power’, Perth composer Lachlan Skipworth writes orchestral, chamber, vocal and experimental music. His vivid musical language is coloured by three years spent in Japan where his immersion in the study of the shakuhachi bamboo flute inevitably became a part of his muse. Winning the 2014 Paul Lowin Prize for orchestral composition established Skipworth’s reputation and led to a string of major commissions. 

Lachlan Skipworth's Oboe Quartet was commissioned for Musica Viva in memory of Anne and Alan Blanckensee, by their son Andrew, family and friends. It will be premiered by Diana Doherty and Streeton Trio on their national tour from 1 - 13 March.

Read his full bio here.

Gordon Kerry

Gordon Kerry is a composer and writer based in north-eastern Victoria. New and recent works include a Sinfonia concertante for the Queensland Symphony Orchestra, chamber works for the Omega, Halcyon, Plexus, Marais Project, and Elysian Fields ensembles, several new choral pieces, and his fourth opera, The Snow Queen, for Victoria Opera. He was Musica Viva’s Featured Composer in 2012 and is the author of New Classical Music: Composing Australia

Gordon Kerry's Sonata for violin and piano was commissioned for Musica Viva by Julian Burnside AO QC and will be premiered by Nicolas Fleury, Emily Sun and Amir Farid on their national tour from 9 - 26 June.

Read his full bio here.

Jakub Jankowski

Jakub Jankowski is an Adelaide composer of primarily chamber and orchestral music. Many of his recent works have been championed by prestigious musicians from Australia and abroad, at events including the Tongyeong International Music Festival (2019), the Huntington Estate Music Festival (2019), the Lockenhaus Chamber Music Festival (2018), the Musica Viva Festival (2017) and the London International Mime Festival (2016). 

Jakub Jankowski's String Quartet was commissioned for Musica Viva by the Adelaide Commissioning Circle and will be premiered by the Goldner String Quartet and Piers Lane on their national tour from 22 Sep - 9 Oct.

Read his full bio here.

Alice Humphries

Alice Humphries is a highly versatile composer working across and in between the contemporary classical, jazz and experimental worlds. Her music has been described as ‘bursting with life and fun, as well as great, great beauty’ and ‘deeply thought-provoking . . . offering both moments of incredible intensity and sublime serenity.’ Her output includes electro-acoustic, chamber, and orchestral music, as well as music for dance, documentary and film. She seeks to create evocative and engaging sound worlds that take inspiration from natural phenomena, and intersections between humanity and nature.

Alice Humphries' new work for viola and piano was commissioned by Geoff Stearn and will be premiered by Christopher Moore and Caroline Almonte on Tuesday, 16 November in the Melbourne Morning Masters series.

Read her full bio here.

Donald Hollier

Born in Sydney, Donald Hollier studied piano at the NSW State Conservatorium of Music. Following studies in Vienna and London, he was appointed the first Director of Music at Sydney’s Newington College in 1962. He was the recipient of a Churchill Fellowship in 1973, and in 1974 received his D.Mus. from the University of London. Donald’s many commissions include an opera, works for chorus and orchestra, stage works, chamber music, and solo pieces for piano, harpsichord and organ.

Donald Hollier's new work was commissioned by Musica Viva with support from Create NSW and will be premiered by Bernadette Harvey, Lerida Delbridge and Miles Mullin-Chivers on Wednesday, 22 September in the Sydney Morning Masters series.

 Read his full bio here.